About us

Mission
History
IMG_20160810_114119015_HDR.jpg

 

To enable families and individuals living with food and financial insecurity and / or psycho-social problems to improve their health and autonomy through community gardening and collective kitchens.

 

Our mission is two-pronged:

- Food security

Our community gardening project strives to ensure that individuals or families living with food insecurity and socio-economic difficulties have direct access to healthy and fresh fruits and vegetables in exchange for their participation in the garden. Through training courses and gardening activities, participants acquire horticultural skills that help increase their food autonomy. In the same vein, we support groups of gardeners wishing to create a collective kitchen to learn culinary skills. Finally, last-resort food aid is offered.

- The promotion of the natural heritage

A project to revitalize the Petite Rivière Saint-Antoine site and the industrial district adjacent to the community garden is currently being developed.

 
 

Les Serres de Clara was founded in 1991.

In its first few years (1991-2005), Les Serres de Clara refurbished the Parc des Jardins in Saint-Antoine through extensive clean-up work, tree planting and creation of community gardens. Most of those projects were carried out as part of a social integration initiative.

In its second phase of operations (2006-2013), Les Serres de Clara gained momentum with the establishment of St-Jérôme Community Garden. The primary aim of this project, created under a broad partnership, is to increase the food autonomy of the disadvantaged members of the community. From 2007, an innovative initiative to support  special-needs gardeners was launched.

In 2014 that the third phase saw the diversification of food security activities with the integration of a food assistance counter and the development of collective kitchens linked to the Community Garden.

 

The aim was to connect the three types of resources (garden, kitchen, food assistance), to streamline the process of mobilizing participants and enabling them to complete the  “garden to table” food chain

Today, the activities have been consolidated and the enhancement of the woodland area around the Little Saint-Antoine River is one of the priority projects.

20200903IMG_3807Sandra_Boivin-fête_des_
Partners
 

We thank our partners

and associates without whom we would not able to pursue our mission!

Partenaires financiers

centraide.png
cisss.png
centre_local_emploi.png
ville_stjerome.png
Desjardins-logo.jpg
gouv_canada_emploi_ete.png
food_rescue.png
community_food.png

Youri Chassin

Member of Parliament for Saint-Jérôme

Quebec Future Coalition

caq.jpg
Associates
coffret.png
logo-MS.png
logo_maison_pp.png
logo_cje.png
MAVN.png
téléchargement.png

And all the volunteers from our community

À propos

 

Permettre aux familles et personnes vivant de l’insécurité alimentaire et économique et/ou des problèmes psycho-sociaux d’accroître leur santé et leur autonomie par le biais du jardinage collectif et des cuisines collectives.

 

Notre mission comporte deux volets:

  - La sécurité alimentaire

Notre projet de jardinage collectif vise à assurer aux personnes ou aux familles vivant des difficultés alimentaires et socio-économiques, un accès direct à des fruits et légumes sains et frais en échange de leur participation au jardin.  Par la formation et les activités de jardinage offertes, l’acquisition de compétences horticoles propres à augmenter leur autonomie alimentaire est facilitée. Dans la même optique, nous accompagnons des groupes de jardiniers voulant créer une cuisine collective, afin qu'ils puissent s'outiller en termes de compétences culinaires. Enfin, une aide alimentaire de dernier recours est offerte.

  - La mise en valeur du patrimoine naturel

Un projet de revalorisation du site de la Petite Rivière Saint-Antoine et du quartier industriel mitoyen au Jardin est en voie de développement.

 
 

Les Serres de Clara ont été fondée  en 1991.

Dans leur première période d’existence (1991-2005), les Serres de Clara ont permis la mise en valeur du Parc des Jardins à Saint-Antoine par de larges travaux de nettoyage, la plantation d’arbres et la mise en place de jardins communautaires.  La plupart de ces projets ont été réalisés dans un cadre d’insertion sociale.  

Dans leur deuxième phase d'expérience (2006-2013), les Serres de Clara prennent un nouvel élan par la mise en place du Jardin Collectif de Saint-Jérôme.  Ce projet, né sous un large partenariat, a pour objectif principal d'accroître l'autonomie alimentaire de la communauté défavorisée.  À partir de 2007, une approche novatrice en accompagnement des jardiniers ayant des besoins particuliers est expérimentée.

C'est en 2014, que la troisième phase s'amorce par la diversification des activités en sécurité alimentaire, en intégrant un comptoir d'aide alimentaire et le développement de cuisines collectives reliées au Jardin Collectif.  

 

L'objectif est de créer une passerelle entre les trois types de ressources (jardin, cuisine, dépannage alimentaire), afin de faciliter la mobilisation des participants et de leur permettre de compléter le cycle alimentaire du «jardin à la table». 

Aujourd’hui, les activités sont consolidées et la mise en valeur du boisé encadrant la petite rivière Saint-Antoine fait partie des projets prioritaires.

 

Merci aux partenaires

et collaborateurs sans qui  la réalisation de notre mission serait impossible!

Partenaires financiers

centraide.png
cisss.png
centre_local_emploi.png
ville_stjerome.png
Desjardins-logo.jpg
food_rescue.png
community_food.png

Youri Chassin

Député de Saint-Jérôme

Coalition avenir Québec

caq.jpg
coffret.png
logo-MS.png
logo_maison_pp.png
logo_cje.png
MAVN.png

Et à tous les bénévoles de la communauté

Contact

Centre communautaire Méridien 74
181 rue Brière, Saint-Jérôme,

Québec, Canada,

J7Y 3A7

Tél : 450-565-2998 # 121

  • White Facebook Icon

© 2020 par ACB. Créé avec Wix.com

 

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now